The Pursuit of Happiness

Standard

Gordon Lakia. I stumbled on her blog sometimes ago and ever since she has not stopped being captivating. Please hear her out.

The Pursuit of Happiness
by Gordon Lakia

Well, we last ended with ”When you’re busy and productive, that’s when love will come knocking at your door. Stay busy working on YOU…” from the blog How to be Pursued. Now, we are trying to figure out how to be truly content and find true inner happiness with our waiting.

First off, let’s define happiness, in your OWN words… What does that mean to you?

I typically ask this question because everyone defines it differently. Some believe that their true happiness is having that special person by their side—finding a soul mate. Some define it as being able to express themselves freely—being themselves no matter what the cost. Others may find it in materialistic things – having tons of money, owning cars, homes, etc.

Well, below is how dictionary.com defines it:

(Click image below)

No matter how true happiness is defined, the truth of the matter is that everyone is in pursuit of attaining this blissful state.

I wanted to write this blog, mainly, to give you some insight on how I became content (a peaceful kind of happiness in which one rests without desires, even though every wish may not have been gratified) after years of being the pursuer (Read How to be Pursued)

Here are some things that I had to think on daily:
(Click image below)

–These series of questions and statements keep me throughout my continuous process of growth. –

I will be quite honest with you– my mindset had to completely change. Allowing God to work on you requires committment, and sometimes I just wanted to give up because I would get sad and depressed about my “situation.” I had to let go of the mental and emotional baggage from past disappointments, hurts, and failures in order to think clearly and positively about my singleness.

In the end, I’m not professing to have it all figured out! Trust me, each and every day I struggle with working on being the best that I can be in my relationship with God, first, and then with others. There are days when I feel “successful,” and then there are others when I feel like I missed the mark; either way, I am still striving.

Please, let’s grow TOGETHER!

